2022 Special Guests

L. Marie Wood is an award-winning psychological horror author and screenwriter. She won the Golden Stake Award for her novel The Promise Keeper. Her screenplays have won Best Horror, Best Afrofuturism/Horror/Sci-Fi, and Best Short Screenplay awards at several film festivals. Wood’s short fiction has been published in groundbreaking works, including the Bram Stoker Award Finalist anthology, Sycorax’s Daughters and the seminal collection Slay: Stories of the Vampire Noire. She has an MFA in Creative Writing and an MA in English which she put to use as the founder of the Speculative Fiction Academy. Wood is also a horror scholar with publications relating to the history of the genre and the craft of writing within it. Learn more about L. Marie Wood at www.lmariewood.com.

#LMarieWood @LMarieWood1 @IYWM #IYWM @Academy Fiction @LOHFiction @SNHUalumni @SHNUmfa @HowardU @CedarGroveBooks @mochomemoirs #WritingCommunity #Writing #authors #writers #amwritingscreenplays #fantasy #horror #romance #sciencefiction #scifi
https://rawdogscreaming.com/ John Edward Lawson’s novels, short fiction, and poetry have garnered nominations for many awards, including the Stoker and Wonderland Awards. In addition to being a founder of Raw Dog Screaming Press, recognized by the Horror Writers Association in 2019 with their Specialty Press Award, and is the former editor-in-chief of The Dream People he currently serves as vice president of Diverse Writers and Artists of Speculative Fiction. When he’s not on the road, you can find John managing the Broadkill Writers Resort where he regularly hosts writing retreats and specialized workshops at the beach on Delaware Bay. He is also founder of AllAccessCon, an event organizing company for making virtual fan convention space available to attendees, vendors, and event sponsors.

Miranda Hill (she/her) is an Assistant Editor at Berkley. After joining the Berkley team in 2016, she was immediately drawn to acquiring mystery, fantasy, science fiction, and horror for both Berkley and Berkley’s Ace imprint. Some of her recent and upcoming titles are The God of Lost Words by A.J. Hackwith, The Impossible Us by Sarah Lotz, and Deadly Summer Nights by national bestselling author Vicki Delany.

She would love to see any and all science fiction and fantasy projects, especially space opera in science fiction in the vein of Mur Lafferty’s SIX WAKES and action and adventure in fantasy similar to Jenn Lyons’ THE RUIN OF KINGS.

She also has interest in cozy mysteries, technological thrillers, and any book that prominently features a dog.

She loves her science fiction and fantasy selections to have whip-fast pacing and biting humor, in the vein of THE LONG WAY TO A SMALL, ANGRY PLANET by Becky Chambers or THE LIES OF LOCKE LAMORA by Scott Lynch, and she particularly enjoys deep character dives in her novels, as in N.K. Jemisin’s THE FIFTH SEASON, Emma Newman’s BEFORE MARS, and SIX WAKES by Mur Lafferty. Some of her recent and upcoming titles are The God of Lost Words by A.J. Hackwith, The Impossible Us by Sarah Lotz, and Deadly Summer Nights by national bestselling author Vicki Delany.

Full List of Interests: https://www.penguin.com/miranda-hill-assistant-editor/

Eva Scalzo was born in New Jersey, but has lived in Houston, Buenos Aires, San Juan, and Boston before settling down outside of Binghamton, New York. She has been reading romance since the fifth grade when she discovered the Sweet Valley High series. On inheriting her grandmother’s collection of vintage Harlequin Romances, she set a goal to someday finish reading them all on top of her already massive TBR.

Eva has a B.A. in the Humanities from the University of Puerto Rico and a M.A. in Publishing and Writing from Emerson College. Since graduating in 2002, she has spent her career in scholarly publishing, working for Houghton Mifflin, Blackwell Publishing, John Wiley & Sons, and Cornell University in a variety of roles. She has been with Speilburg Literary since 2013, and started accepting clients in 2017. Eva is a member of the AALA (formerly AAR), RWA, and SCBWI.

In Adult Fiction, Eva represents Romance (all subgenres but inspirational) and Science Fiction/Fantasy.

Eva also represents all subgenres of Young Adult Fiction and select Middle Grade.

Full list of interests: https://www.evascalzo.com/mswl

Prior to joining Howland Literary, Erin Clyburn was an associate agent with The Jennifer De Chiara Literary Agency. She was the general manager and director of collection development for Turtleback Books, a distributor of books to the school and library market, and she has over a decade of experience in magazine publishing, having worked for brands including Food & Wine, Cooking Light, People, and Entertainment Weekly. She received her BA in English Literature from Mississippi State University and her MA in Children’s Literature from Hollins University. She lives in Birmingham, Alabama, with her partner, Michael, and four unruly rabbits.

Erin represents middle grade fiction, YA fiction, and adult fiction and nonfiction.

In MG and YA, she is looking for horror, mystery, thriller, big-hearted contemporary, and grounded stories with magical or speculative elements. In adult fiction, she is most interested in upmarket and literary fiction, and she gravitates toward the dark and strange: horror, thriller, mystery, and grounded stories with speculative or magical elements. Send her your weirds. In nonfiction, she’s interested in intersectional perspectives and is looking for narrative nonfiction, memoir, and deep dives into topics including pop science, nature, food and culinary history, and sports and adventure. An Alabamian with Louisiana roots, Erin is particularly interested in Southern literary and upmarket fiction from diverse voices in the above genres. A more in-depth wishlist can be found on her website.

Full list of interests: https://www.erinclyburn.com/queries–mswl.html

Greg is an artist and illustrator from Queensland, Australia, specialising in the horror field.

Trained as a graphic designer and visual artist, he’s provided artwork and book cover designs for various magazines, comics, graphic novels and promotional designs for the Horror Writers Association and the Australian Horror Writers Association.

His first graphic novel Witch Hunts: A Graphic History of the Burning Times, (McFarland & Company) written by authors Rocky Wood and Lisa Morton, won the Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel category at the Bram Stoker Awards® in 2013.